Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
my warm life
15 octobre 2011

New York Times Couture Collection report

There’s nothing straight about my life (baddaboom!). I knew I loved fashion, but when I was growing up the idea of a fashion designer was pretty abstract and something that happened in paris, so I ended up going to school for graphic tory burch natalya cork wedges and fine arts. I was always drawing, so I moved to new york after I graduated from college, with the intention of being a fashion illustrator. This was the mid 70′s, and I was so intimidated by artists like Antonio and Kenneth Paul Block, that I switched careers and became a fashion designer. While I had a great career designing, I find it kind of awesome that my life has come full circle and I’m back doing what I originally came here to do, which is to illustrate! I just read steve jobs lovely commencement speech, and it really hit home-do what you love, and I have never been happier doing what I’m doing now!
I love this question. I have a lot of different feelings about it. For a few seasons there was a show where a person who ‘wanted to be a fashion designer’ and a more technical person would team up and compete with their designs. It was cringe worthy. The message was ‘anyone can be a fashion designer’ which I don’t think is true. I think anyone with a strong concept and taste level and willingness to work their ass off can be a fashion designer. I mean, I never went to school for it,tory burch black leather boots but that idea that anyone who likes pretty colors can do it, kind of dumbs down the art of design. On the other hand, I used to watch Project Runway with my daughter when she was 11 and it was fun. She got a really good idea of what the process was, and it was entertaining. The all nighters and the nuttiness that goes with it is pretty close to the drama that builds before a fashion show, so it’s great to see on tv.

Right now I am loving The Rachel Zoe Project.’ When she sees a dress she loves, I have the same response of ‘OMFG.’ I completely relate to that. I was in Milan last week and was invited by Prada to sketch the new women’s’ collection. When they opened the showroom doors I gasped and teared up because it was so beautiful. It’s a deep, real response.
I think I’m returning to a kind of post hippie phase of my youth, but basically I think there’s just too much shit being produced and thrown away and it kind of grosses me out. There’s too much stuff, too many seasons,tory burch suede corbet 5 bootie too many deliveries, too much that taxes the resources of the world. That’s not to say I don’t love the fashion industry. I do, but like everything right now, there need to be changes. I wish more things were made locally. I used to love having garments produced on west 37th street. I loved that process of working with tailors and sewers. So maybe, like organic farming, I think everything needs to be closer to home and indigenous. I’m rambling now so I’ll stop.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Archives
Publicité